Identity area

Reference code

AU WA S2623




  • 1973-01-01 - (Creation)

Level of description






Context area

Name of creator

AU WA A216 - DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS (1971-01-01 - 1982-08-01)

Administrative history

The Prisons Department became the Department of Corrections in 1971 following the passing of the Prisons Act Amendment Act which established the post of Director of the Department of Corrections. The Department was renamed the Prisons Department in 1982.

Name of creator

AU WA A217 - PRISONS DEPARTMENT [2] (1982-08-01 - 1987-04-03)

Administrative history

The Prisons Act 1981 came into operation on 1 August 1982 and provided for the establishment of a Prisons Department in lieu of the Department of Corrections. The Department's name was changed to the Department of Corrective Services on 3 April 1987.

Name of creator

AU WA A218 - DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIVE SERVICES [1] (1987-04-03 - 1993-01-01)

Administrative history

The Department of Corrective Services was established on 3 April 1987 following a change of name from Prisons Department.

In 1993, the Department was amalgamated with the Crown Law Department and the Juvenile Justice functions from the Department of Community Development to form the Ministry of Justice. The Ministry changed its name to the Department of Justice in 2001.

On 1 February 2006, the Department of Justice was abolished and the functions of the department passed to two newly formed departments: the Department of the Attorney General and the Department of Corrective Services.

Name of creator

AU WA A643 - MINISTRY OF JUSTICE (1993-01-01 - 2001-07-01)

Administrative history

The Ministry of Justice was formed by the amalgamation of the former Corrective Services and Crown Law Departments and the Youth Justice Bureau, as well as some of the functions of the Ministry of Consumer Affairs. The Ministry includes the Offices of the Crown Solicitor, Parliamentary Counsel, the Public Trustee, the Public Guardian, the Registrar General, the Commissioner of Equal Opportunity and State Corporate Affairs. In addition, it provides administration of the Solicitor General's Office, the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, the Parole Board and the Law Reform Commission.

In 2001, the Ministry of Justice changed its name to the Department of Justice.

Archival history

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Various medical records relating to prisoners and staff, including patient records and name based indexes. Health and medical records are microfiched prior to transfer to State Records Office, which become the archival record.


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Restricted 100 years

Conditions governing access (legacy)

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Related units of description

Related units of description

Access points

Place access points

Description control area

Level of detail




Archivist's note

Physform2 = 5

Accession area